You Transform All Who Are Touched By You

I was talking with my BFF Deborah Bryan recently about why I think her blog is so popular. I mean, aside from the fact that she’s witty and awesome and generally just kind of fabulous to be around. My ultimate conclusion was that people really connect with her writing because it’s both open and honest. Deb writes about heavy, difficult subjects quite often, and bares herself, and takes risks, not just with controversial topics but with her own emotional equilibrium. She writes in a way that exposes both her vulnerability and her strength.

So when she asked me if I’d be interested in writing a guest post for her “For This I Am Thankful” series, it seemed only appropriate that I try to do the same. I’d had a draft for this blog half-written in my head for weeks, but when I sat down to actually write it, it was even harder for me than I expected. I wrote and discarded several drafts. When I finally finished it and sent it to Deborah for posting, it was accompanied by a rambling, neurotic email. I wasn’t sure I’d said what I meant to say with this post, or that it was adequate, or appropriate, or right. I was incredibly anxious about having a link in hand to send to the person that this post is mostly about. I was afraid that every word I’d written would be inadequate to the task of saying what I felt. But following Deborah’s fantastic example, I was willing to take the risk and fumble my way through it.

The result is The Pogues and Parcheesi and afternoon strolls through IKEA, which you can read right over here on Deborah’s blog. Please feel free to leave a comment there or here, if you are moved to do so. And because sometimes you have to give yourself a kick in the ass, I’ve also promised myself that today I’m going to reach out to another dear friend I’ve lost touch with, and stop letting those important ties atrophy. It is my fervent hope that you’ll do the same, and tell someone what they mean to you, even if the only way you can bring yourself to do it is with an awkwardly public blog. Perhaps we can declare this Friendship Friday, in which all of us Socially Awkward Penguins remember to put forth an effort to maintain our human connections. Send an email or answer a blog comment or visit a friend’s Facebook wall or, if you aren’t allergic to phones, just call someone. It’ll only take a second, and it is so incredibly, remarkably worth it.

I hope you’ll also drop by Bright Strange Things again later today when I’ll be posting a new Featured Creature Friday blog, which I guarantee will be 100% less soppy than this post was. Well, okay. Maybe more like 80%. I get a little excited about biology.

“Each friend represents a world in us, a world possibly not born until they arrive, and it is only by this meeting that a new world is born.”
– Anais Nin

One thought on “You Transform All Who Are Touched By You

  1. Deb and her blog are awesome! I’m heading over there now to read your post. BTW, I think your blog is really fabulous, too! :)

Leave a Reply

