Five Songs for Spring

At long last, spring appears to have arrived in my doorstep. It’s that magical time of year that makes you wonder whether maybe you do have that seasonal affective disorder thing because there’s really no other accounting for how happy a little sunshine can make you. Spring is all about new beginnings, new blooms, and shaking off the gloom of winter, so here are a few songs this Musical Monday to get you in the spirit.

Josh Ritter, “Snow is Gone”

I’m underneath your window now—it’s long after the birds have gone to roost
And I’m not sure if I’m singing for the love of it or for the love of you
But I’ve flown a long way honey hear my confession then I’ll go
I’d rather be the one who loves than to be loved and never even know

This is one of those songs that gets perpetually stuck in my  head, but I can’t complain… Ritter’s fantastic lyrics paired with the catchy, upbeat drive of this song make it my go-to song for spring. As an added bonus, this video is of a live performance; Josh Ritter is one of my absolute favorites for live performances because he brings an incredible enthusiasm to his work. His music is beautiful and moving and fun but getting to share his obvious enjoyment in it is perhaps the best part.


Hey Rosetta!, “New Goodbye”

get your things
we’re leaving
when the morning birds are singing
we’re sailing

cause its time to go
what’s to come only fate can show
see her move like a toreador
wielding her cloak and sword

You may have noticed by now that I’m kind of obsessed with Hey Rosetta! I can’t help myself.They’re just so insanely amazing. “New Goodbye” is a particular favorite for new beginnings, just the kind of song to get you up and out the door to chase the life you really want. It’s an anthem for starting over and casting off and moving on, and it’s lovely on top of that.


Yael Naim, “New Soul”

I’m a new soul
I came to this strange world
Hoping I could learn a bit about how to give and take
But since I came here
Felt the joy and the fear
Finding myself making every possible mistake

This is one of those songs that’ll put a little spring in your step, not to mention it’s kind of adorable. It’s possible I have a thing for songs about starting fresh, but that’s only because starting fresh is my favorite hobby. :D


Bright Eyes, “First Day of My Life”

Remember the time you drove all night
Just to meet me in the morning
And I thought it was strange you said everything changed
You felt as if you’d just woke up

Some days I just have to indulge my inner romantic. Okay, every day. At all times. Ever. I love this song’s simplicity and the undercurrent of hope. Also, the video’s awesome and I honestly can’t explain why.


Jason Mraz, “I’m Yours”

I’ve been spending way too long checking my tongue in the mirror
And bending over backwards just to try to see it clearer
But my breath fogged up the glass
And so I drew a new face and I laughed

If I wish to make myself happy instantly, there is no better man for the job than Jason Mraz. I love his voice, his lyrics (well okay, I didn’t really like “Wordplay” but I appreciated the sentiment behind it), his style… I pretty much love everything about the guy. In the way that you can say that about people you’ve never met. You know what I’m saying. Every time this song comes on the radio it instantly brightens even the worst day… and the Sesame Street remix is pretty awesome, too.

Leave a Reply

